What is chakra and why chakra yoga?

What is chakra and why chakra yoga?

You can think of a chakra as a spinning wheel of energy. The chakras are in the center of your body, from the bottom up. You have seven chakras and each chakra has its own function.

Without you knowing and seeing it, there is an energy running through your body. The energy comes from the cosmos and from the earth and is constantly flowing up and down. The chakras allow this energy to flow up and down. When the chakras are doing their work well you feel good about yourself.

Sometimes chakras get blocked, so that the energy no longer flows smoothly through your body. Certain complaints are linked to a particular chakra. By practicing specific exercises such as chakra yoga you can open or even close your chakras.

Chakra yoga

Chakra yoga is one of the most popular types of yoga in the world. Chakra yoga is a type of yoga that focuses on balancing the different chakras. It is important to note that it goes beyond just yoga, this form of yoga is primarily about the mind and body. Chakra yoga can help you find clarity and focus on the things that are important to you. When you are able to balance your chakras, your overall health improves.

It is recommended for many different reasons, including physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health. Chakra yoga is practiced for a variety of purposes. Some use it as exercise, some use it as a form of meditation, others use it as a spiritual practice for spiritual growth, and some use it as a means of self-care.

The goal of Chakra Yoga is to use physical postures and meditation to awaken and balance the energy centers. The form yoga is used as a way to purify and balance one's energy levels, helping them achieve mental clarity and emotional stability. It can also be used as a shield against negative energies.

The seven chakras (from bottom to top)

Before you know if your chakras are balanced, of course, you need to know what chakras you have in the first place. We have listed the seven chakras from the bottom to the top of the body.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Root chakra provides stability. It is the connection between man and earth. When your root chakra is balanced, is stable and believes in himself and others. When root chakra is out of balance, you are fearful and insecure.

Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)

This chakra can also be thought of as the "underbelly feeling. The sexual energy also lies in this chakra. The chakra represents emotions and feeling. When Sacral chakra is balanced, you can talk openly about your emotions and you are well in your energy. When the chakra is out of balance you can be emotionally unstable, you don't radiate emotion.

Solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

In this chakra lies our inner strength. The element of fire belongs to this chakra, this element supports digestion. The energy gives you the strength to move and stay physical. When the chakra is balanced, your digestion works well and you are physically balanced. Once the chakra is out of balance, you notice it in your digestion. You may have problems with the stomach or liver, for example. You are also physically weaker.

Heart chakra (Anahata)

The heart chakra is associated with the element air. Our heart, circulatory system, diaphragm and upper back are part of this. Heart chakra provides love and connection. When the chakra is balanced you radiate love and sympathy, but when the chakra is out of balance you may experience chest and lung pain. You lack love toward yourself and others.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddi)

The throat chakra is located in the middle of our throat, it is associated with communication, self-esteem and the ability to express our thoughts and feelings. It is the first chakra to open and come into awareness around the age of six and at the time of first speaking. When this chakra is out of balance, it can cause problems with speaking, hoarseness and sore throat.

Forehead Chakra (Ajna)

The forehead chakra is associated with the third eye, the forehead, the third eyelid and the pineal gland. The forehead chakra controls our ability to perceive what is happening around us. When it is unbalanced, it can cause symptoms including headaches, difficulty focusing, feeling overwhelmed and an inability to understand or communicate with others.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Crown chakra is central to our awareness, trust, devotion, inspiration and positivity. When our crown chakra is out of balance, you may lack confidence and energy. You are no longer sure what you want and you may become delusional or hysterical in your mind.

Do you recognize certain symptoms about one or perhaps several chakras being out of balance? Chakra yoga is the solution to bring your chakras back into balance, to feel good about yourself and to improve your health. To practice chakra yoga optimally and pleasantly, you can use our thick yoga mats or yoga blocks from Bamboa Yoga.  

Puede que te interese

The Journey from A-FTNSS to Bamboa: Embracing Change